

## Faculty Senate of the California State University Maritime Academy

Resolution 24-25-02 April 10, 2025

Vote (For/Against/Abstain): 16/0/0

## RESOLUTION - Streamlining Governance: The Transition of the Cal Maritime Faculty Senate

**WHEREAS:** the California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo (Cal Poly) and California State University Maritime Academy (Cal Maritime) will integrate and become one university by July 1, 2026; and

**WHEREAS**: the first phase of the integration involves the establishment of one administrative organization on July 1, 2025; and

**WHEREAS:** the integration of Cal Maritime with Cal Poly calls for a simpler, unified governance structure that serves the interests of all faculty and students; and

**WHEREAS:** The Office of the Chancellor has confirmed that after the integration Cal Maritime will henceforth be referred to as California Polytechnic State University Solano Campus (Cal Poly Solano); and

**WHEREAS:** the Academic Senate of California Polytechnic State University adopted AS-989-25 "RESOLUTION ON THE ESTABLISHMENT OF ONE ACADEMIC SENATE INCLUSIVE OF FACULTY AT CAL POLY SOLANO CAMPUS" on March 11, 2025; and

**WHEREAS:** the duty to maintain clear, effective decision-making compels the Cal Maritime Faculty Senate to streamline our administrative processes without sacrificing the integrity of our academic programs; and

**WHEREAS:** this resolution is not an end but a strategic evolution, one that honors Cal Maritime's past achievements while promising a future where faculty expertise continues to guide critical academic decisions. Therefore, be it:

**RESOLVED:** that on July 1, 2025, the Cal Maritime Faculty Senate will merge with the Cal Poly Academic Senate and that this change is being made with respect for our past and a clear eye on a future built on unity

and shared purpose.

And be it further RESOLVED: that the Faculty Senate distribute this resolution to the Chancellor of the California State University (CSU), the Chair of the CSU Statewide Academic Senate, Chairs of Campus Academic Senates, the President of the California State Students Association, Cal Poly Office of the President, the Chair of the Cal Poly Academic Senate, Cal Maritime Office of the President, Executive Dean, Deans, and Department Chairs.