Web Content Display javax.portlet.title.56

Minimize

CSU Family and Medical Leave (FML)


Under the CSU Family Medical Leave Policy (FML), you may take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave, to care for a new child, or care for a seriously ill spouse, domestic partner, child or parent, or if you suffer a serious health problem.  You must use your sick leave and vacation days first, as approved, before going on unpaid leave.
 
The CSU FML incorporates both the Federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and California Family Rights Act (CFRA) leave entitlements and run concurrently.

How It Works:

  • The CSU FML 12 week entitlement is calculated on a forward rolling basis within a 12-month period, from the first date the employee's first FML leave begins.  CSU designates FML leave following a 3-5 day absence (according to the employee's bargaining unit), and only the amount of actual leave taken is counted against the maximum entitlement.  CSU FML tracks concurrently with most leave programs except for the California Pregnancy Disability Leave.
     
  • While on paid CSU FML, benefit premiums, including health, dental, vision, group life and long-term disability continue to be paid by the CSU without a lapse in coverage.  During periods of unpaid CSU FML, only health, dental and vision premiums will continue to be paid by the CSU.
     
  • FML eligibility is determined on a case-by-case basis. 

FML on a Reduced or Intermittent Basis

  • Leaves for the employee's own, family member's, or covered service member's serious health condition can be permitted on either an intermittent or reduced work schedule when medically necessary.  For intermittent leave or leave on a reduced work schedule, there must be a medical requirement for that type of leave (as distinguished from voluntary treatments and procedures) and such medical need must best be accommodated through an intermittent or reduced work schedule.  Employees needing intermittent CSU FML or a reduced work schedule must make a reasonable effort to schedule leave to avoid disrupting campus operations.

How to Request a Leave of Absence

Medical Certification

  • The Department of Human Resources will require certification from a health care provider from an employee seeking leave for his/her or a qualified family or service members' serious health condition.  Failure to timely provide the required information may result in a delay or non-approval of leave.  Written notification withmedical certification shall be provided to the Benefits Office as soon as the event necessitating the leave becomes known to the employee.  

While you are on a Leave of Absence

  • The Department of Human Resources  will determine your pay credit usage and make all reporting entries up through your return to work.
  • Stay in touch with Barbara Reece (x1021) and Marie Hernandez (x1138) providing all updates and medical documentation supporting extensions and return to work releases PRIOR to returning.  The release must indicate if there are any restrictions to your return and the duration for the restrictions to be in place.
  • Stay in touch with your department during your leave. Communicate any leave changes (reduced or extended leave), and let them know when you expect to return to work. 
At any time, if you have any questions, please contact Barbara Reece in the Department of Human Resources via email at breece@csum.edu or at 707.654.1021.
 
 
 

 


Scroll Up
Staging Enabled