VALLEJO, CA — The inaugural Cal Maritime Athletics Hall of Fame class has been announced.

Alums Kim Estes, Bryan Rooney, Mike Schindler, and Chris Vilicich, and teams from 2011-12 men's basketball and 2014-15 varsity crew, comprise the inaugural Cal Maritime Athletics Hall of Fame class, as announced by Director of Athletics Karen Lee Yoder on Monday.

The inaugural Cal Maritime Hall of Fame Banquet will take place on Saturday, Oct. 7 from 9-11 a.m. on campus at the Compass Room as part of Keelhauler Family Weekend.

Visit later this week to learn how you can secure tickets for this historic event.

"I am excited to honor the teams and individuals who played a key role in creating a successful foundation for Cal Maritime Athletics, and thrilled the public submitted an outstanding group of nominations for consideration by the Hall of Fame committee," said Yoder.

"I also want to thank members of that committee for their time and hard work in selecting Athletics' inaugural Hall of Fame inductees. This was a challenging and difficult process due to the quality, and number of nominations received."


Established in 1929, California State University Maritime Academy is the only degree-granting maritime academy on the West Coast. Located in Vallejo, California, the campus offers undergraduate degrees that prepare students for careers in engineering, transportation, international relations, business, and global logistics. Cal Maritime also offers a master’s degree in Transportation and Engineering Management, as well as a number of extended learning programs and courses.