Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate of Cal Maritime is the official body of faculty which participates in the governance of the university. The Senate makes recommendations regarding curriculum, academic standards, criteria and standards for the selection, retention and tenure of faculty members, and all other matters that affect faculty and students.

Senate General Meetings are open to all members of the University community. 

During the Academic Year 2023-2024, Faculty Senate meetings will take place on Zoom. Please contact the Senate Secretary, Ariel Setniker, for the meeting link if you did not receive an Outlook calendar invitation. 

Please contact the Senate Chair, Elizabeth McNie, if you would like to propose an agenda item.

Meetings typically take place on the third Thursday of the month, with some adjustments for holidays.

Fall 2023 Meeting Dates 

Thursday, August 31, 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM
Thursday, September 21, 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM
Thursday, October 19, 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM 
Thursday, November 16, 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM
Thursday, December 14, 11:00 AM - 12:15 PM

Senate Executive Committee (2023-2024)

Senator Name Title
Elizabeth McNie (MT)  Senate Chair
Sarah Senk (C&C) Senate Vice Chair
Ariel Setniker (S&M) Senate Secretary
Wil Tsai (ME) ASCSU Senator
Christine Isakson (IBL) ASCSU Senator
Margaret Ward (MT) Senate Exec At-Large
Mike Holden (ME) Senate Exec At-Large


Senate Membership

Senator Name Title Term Expires
Christine Isakson ASCSU Senator Summer 2026
Wil Tsai ASCSU Senator Summer 2024
Tom Nordenholz Senator At-Large Summer 2025
Sarah Senk Senator At-Large Summer 2024
Ariel Setniker Senator At-Large Summer 2025
Ryan Storz Senator At-Large Summer 2024
Colin Dewey [on sabbatical AY 2023-2024, replaced by Aparna Sinha C&C Senator Summer 2024
Mike Strange ET Senator Summer 2025
David Satterwhite  ET Senator Summer 2024
Amy Skoll GSMA Senator Summer 2025
Nipoli Kamdar IBL Senator Summer 2024
Nick Lewis Lecturer At-Large Summer 2024
Kitty Luce Library Senator Summer 2025
Mike Holden ME Senator Summer 2024
Tamara Burback MT Senator Summer 2025
Elizabeth McNie MT Senator Summer 2024
Margaret Ward MT Senator Summer 2025
Taiyo Inoue S&M Senator Summer 2025
Julie Simons S&M Senator Summer 2024