Eligibility and Enrollment

Medicare is a federal health insurance program regulated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Medicare is for individuals:

  • Age 65 and older
  • Under age 65 with certain disabilities
  • With End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD)
Medicare consists of four parts, each covering specific services:
  • Medicare Part A (Hospital)
  • Medicare Part B (Medical)
  • Medicare Part C (Medicare Advantage plans)
  • Medicare Part D (Prescription drugs)
The Social Security Administration (SSA) oversees Medicare eligibility and enrollment.

Medicare Resources

Medicare Enrollment Periods

Requirements to Continue CalPERS Coverage

Certifying Medicare Status

Ineligible for Medicare

Deferred Enrollment in Medicare Part B

Cancellation of CalPERS Health Coverage

Medicare Part B Premiums

Late Enrollment Penalty

Reimbursement of Premiums

Transitioning to a Medicare Health Plan

Enrolling through a Spouse Under 65

Medicare Part D and CalPERS Medicare Health Plans

Medicare Requirements Impacting your CalPERS Health Coverage

Optional Benefits for CalPERS Contracting Agencies

Special Enrollment